Lockup Stage 28th September 2016 to 17th January 2017

Lockup stage has begun! Sarking is in and all roof tiles have been installed except the back living area and alfresco. I think they’re waiting on the scaffolding to be dropped to do this part.

Installation of the weatherboard has also begun around the front and sides of the home.

It looks awesome!

There a couple of outstanding issues at this point that I’m waiting to get rectified – the slab that has our alfresco steps is crooked and looks weird and unsymmetrical and we are missing a recess in our ensuite.

One week later, perfect sunny weather and nil action on site. Our site supervisor was apparently on annual leave and his work was apparently being taken care of by the construction manager.

Maybe we’ll have better luck this week?

21st October – It’s been about 2 1/2 weeks now and we’ve had minimal action on site. I just got a call this morning from our site supervisor to inform us that he will no longer be looking after our site.

Our construction manager will be temporarily looking after our site until our new site supervisor number three joins the picture.

I don’t know if it’s normal to have such high site supervisor turnover at such an early stage in the build. I’m starting to think it’s us!

26th October – A bit more movement on site today, a bit more cladding done…

img_0250

4th November – Our new site supervisor # 3 seems to be off to a good start. Our front and alfresco piers have been rendered, our alfresco roof tiles are almost complete and they have begun the render of our dropped edge beams.

img_0387

26th December – We are still not technically at lockup stage and frankly I’m pretty annoyed at Metricon at the moment. The site is a mess and there is rubbish everywhere. We received our lockup invoice almost 4 weeks ago despite not actually being at lockup. I questioned it and they withdrew the invoice, only to re-issue it last week just before the 3 week industry shutdown. Considering works for lockup stage were only 95 per cent complete I refused to make payment. I found it quite insulting that I then had to justify why I wouldn’t pay for an incomplete stage to 4 different Metricon staff.

In the end the invoice was withdrawn yet again.

On a happier note we have had lots of movement on site in the last few months. We have 95 per cent of cladding complete, most of our windows have been installed, front door and most internal doors are in. Gyprock has been done, electrical wiring is done as well as waterproofing in wet areas. We have upstairs skirting boards and cornices throughout the home and just in time for Christmas we got our staircase! We also have downpipes and they have even begun painting our weatherboard…

Front Door

Front Door

Study

Study

Internal Doors

Internal Doors

Entry Living Area

Entry Living Area

Kitchen Window Splashback

Kitchen Window Splashback

Laundry

Laundry

Ensuite

Ensuite

Bathroom

Bathroom

Alfresco Stacker Door Frame

Alfresco Stacker Door Frame

Upstairs

Upstairs

Main Bedroom Entry Doors

Main Bedroom Entry Doors

Downstairs Kitchen / Living Area

Downstairs Kitchen / Living Area

Master Bedroom

Master Bedroom

Stairs

Stairs

Lockup stage was finally completed  in about 3 and a half months.

Scaffolding has now been removed and things are getting interesting…

Looking forward to fixing stage!

3 thoughts on “Lockup Stage 28th September 2016 to 17th January 2017

  1. Hi,
    Not sure how I stumbled onto your blog but you remind me of myself! We are in contract stage with metricon now to build a Balmaine 51 with a Hamptons/traditional american style. I was just wondering about your windows. I am after double hung casement windows and our salesperson is really no help in this department. He has said can I just email him with what windows I want where. We haven’t even been to studio M yet so I don’t know how I am meant to do this! Is this something you chose at studio M?

    Like

    • Our salesperson had no idea either in regards to the windows. Our double hung colonials are on our facade and I’m SO happy with them, I’ll post some pictures as soon as they are painted.

      We have colonial casement style windows in the kids rooms and bathroom but these are not available through Metricon’s window supplier in timber so they had to be aluminium.

      The timber looks so much better! I regret not having done them all in timber.

      I had many problems trying to price the windows I wanted. In the end I contacted Metricon’s sales rep at Wideline and discussed them directly with her as I was so frustrated because no one at Metricon seemed to know what I wanted.

      You will also find Wideline won’t give you a picture of what you are ordering so it is a bit of a gamble. Also be prepared to pay $2 to $3K per window depending on size.

      Best of luck in building your dream home, I’m sure it will be beautiful with a Hampton facade!

      Like

  2. I too have stumbled onto your amazing blog! I’m in Brisbane Queensland and looking to demolish and build – possibly the Bayville. Thanks for your advice so far. It’s going to be stunning when complete!
    I find it a bit scary that you really don’t know what it is all going to cost until you’re well down the track. It seems like pot luck with who your site manager is… and the administrative side of things sounds fraught with incompetence. But that Bayville…. the heart wants it!
    Best of luck for the home straight.
    Maggie

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

